Department of History

The Department of History was founded on 1 October 1998, the History Study group was founded, and its foundation was greatly influenced by the fact that Niš had not have a history department since the 1970s. 

As a young Department, they set for themselves complex goals and tasks in terms of personnel, teaching and scientific research. Using the experience of other university centres, it initiated appropriate development of the teaching plan and programme and established the concept of the long-term personnel policy, based on the Department’s projections.

In cooperation with the management of the Faculty of Philosophy, the involvement of the Department’s staff in scientific conferences both in the country and internationally is being stimulated. Intense work is being done on determining the needs in the fields of textbooks and teaching tools and these are constantly getting acquired.

The current Department members are: Irena Ljubomirović, associate professor and Head of Department, Božica Mladenović, full professor, Slaviša Nedeljković, associate professor, Miloš Đorđević, associate professor, Miroslav Pešić, associate professor, Đorđe Đekić, assistant professor, Vladimir Aleksić, assistant professor, Jasmina Šaranac Stamenković, assistant professor, Dejan Antić, assistant professor and Milena Kocić, teaching assistant.

Accredited programs of all levels of study are realized in the department: Bachelor, Master and Doctoral studies.